GO Group confirms long list for Festival Awards Europe Green Operations Award

The GO Group stearing committee are happy to announce their appreciation for the trust of the EFA organizers and Yourope the european festival association. The GO Group is respopnsoble for the selection of the Green Operations Award jury, long and short list selection and the presentation of the award winner. GO Group co-founder and Yourope anchorman for green issues Holger Jan Schmidt (GreenEvents Europe) says: “We have a great group of independent experts on the jury and selected a great variety of festivals from all parts of Europe. They have been nomminated for seve a fantastic green start, exceptional green development over a couple of years or a terrific single green action. The shortlist selection is almost done as well, but will be announced in november. I am looking forward to the winner selection. It’s good to know already that thral reasons. This could bee winner will be a worthy and outstanding one.”

Green Operations Award
European Festival Award for Green Excellence

The Green Operations Award is the annual award presented by Yourope and the GO Group to the festival which has made a significant contribution to or achievement towards developing more sustainable events. This may be through practises and systems introduced at their own event, through the development of good practices which they have shared with other events,  a specific innovation or through continued improvements over a number of years.The award is judged and awarded  by a panel made up of experts not directly linked to any specific festival with the exception that the previous year’s winner will be invited to cast a vote for the following year’s award only.

Green Operations Award – Jury 2013:

Teresa Moore (Bucks New University, UK
Claire O’Neill (A Greener Festival, UK)
Linnéa Svensson (Greener Event Foundation, NOR)
Jacob Bilabel (Green Music Initiative, GER)
Holger Jan Schmidt (GreenEvents Europe, Yourope, GER)
Last year’s winner: Melt! Festival

This is the long list (in alphabethical order) containing all nominated festivals by the jury members:

Boom, Portugal
Croissant Neuf Summer, UK 
Das Fest, Germany
Elevate Festival Graz, Austria
EXIT Festival, Serbia
Fusion Festival, Germany
Illosaari Rock, Finland
Maifeld Derby, Germany
Malmø Festival, Sweden
Mysterland, Holland
Open Air St Gallen, Switzerland
Öya Festival, Norway
Pstereo Festival, Norway
Roskilde Festival, Denmark
Shambala, UK
Sziget Festival, Hungary
Way Out West, Germany
We Love Green, France

The five short list festivals selected by the GO Group stearing committee will be announced with the short lists of the other EFA categories on nov 12th. The winner of the Green Operations Award will be announced and presented during the European Festival Awards ceremony in Groningen on wed january 9th 2013. The ceremony will be helt at the Oosterport on the opening night of next years EurosonicNoorderslag festival and conference.