Eurosonic Noorderslag is gearing up for it’s most dynamic edition to date which will feature four days and nights of live music, conferences, industry networking and innovation. Over the event’s 30 year history, Eurosonic Noorderslag has cemented it’s position as the stand-out get together for the European live music scene while expanding in the fields of digital business and live music innovation.

Eurosonic Noorderslag features a festival programme that spans four days with over 350 artists from over 31 European countries set to perform from the 11th – 14th of January in Groningen. From pop, rock, indie, folk and everything in between, Eurosonic Noorderslag is the place to discover the best new and breakthrough talent of 2017. Over its 30 year history, Eurosonic Noorderslag has been dedicated to the better circulation of European music, with a proven track record for helping break new artists on the international live music scene, kick-starting the careers of European acts such as Ásgeir, Aurora, Birth of Joy, Christine and the Queens, De Staat, Dua Lipa, First Aid Kit, Hozier, James Blake, Franz Ferdinand, Milky Chance, My Baby, Royal Blood and Seinabo Sey. Find out more about the full lineup for Eurosonic Noorderslag 2017 here.

As well as all the amazing new acts performing at the event this year’s conference programme includes top-tier keynote speakers such as BBC Radio 1’s Head of Music Chris Price, Legendary German promoter Ossy Hoppe, SXSW conference programmer Todd Hansen and Seymour Stein co-founder of US label Sire. Topics up for discussion range from ‘The Future of Media’, ‘Where are Women in the European Live music industry?’, ‘Labels, Media & Festivals’, ‘Music Venues in Europe’ and Buma Music Meets Tech (BMMT) will be hosting a variety of seminars. The conference takes place in the Oosterpoort as part of the festival. Find out more about the conference programme.

Portugal Focus
Each year Eurosonic Noorderslag highlights a different country, showcasing the diverse musical talent across Europe. This year Portugal will be the focus country taking centre stage, organised in cooperation with WHY Portugal. A total of 21 acts from Portugal will be performing at the showcase festival in January: :papercutz, Batida presents The Almost Perfect DJ, Best Youth, DJ Firmeza, Dj Ride, First Breath After Coma, Gisela João, Glockenwise, Holy Nothing, Marta Ren & the Groovelvets, Memória de Peixe, Moonshiners, NEEV, Noiserv, Octa Push, Rodrigo Leão, Sam Alone and the Gravediggers, The Gift, The Happy Mess, Throes + The Shine and We Bless This Mess. Find out more about the Portuguese acts at #ESNS17.

Alongside the acts playing in the festival program, the focus on Portugal continues at the Eurosonic Noorderslag conference where we delve deeper into the music and festival scene. During the conference there will be a Portugal focus lounge and WHY Portugal will be presenting the following panels:

WHY Portugal: Country Focus Panel. Come and find out WHY Portugal is one of Europe’s most promising breeding grounds for new music. With: David Ferreira (RTP), Pedro Coquenão (Batida), Márcio Laranjeira (Lovers & Lollypops) moderator: Rui Miguel Abreu.
WHY Portugal: Land of Festivals. Portugal has a population of 11 million, over 3 million festival goers and over 400 music festivals.  The country is a rich and flourishing home to festivals of all sizes covering every genre. With: Ricardo Bramão (APORFEST), Vanessa Careta (Música no Coração), José Eduardo Martins (Ritmos), Moderator: Vitor Belanciano  (O Público)

European Border Breaker Awards
On 11 January 2017, the Dutch city of Groningen hosts the 14th European Border Breakers Awards, the European music show dedicated to up-and-coming bands and acts. The Awards this year go to Alan Walker (no), Jaakko Eino Kalevi (fi), Namika (de), Hinds (es), Filous (at), Jain (fr), Dua Lipa (gb), Era Istrefi (al), Natalie La Rose (nl) and Walking on Cars (ie). The awards recognise new acts based on success outside their own country. The Awards are a chance to discover and celebrate the best of contemporary European music.

All the winners will feature in the award show, hosted by celebrated musician and presenter Jools Holland. The show will be recorded for TV and is available to all European public broadcasting stations.

European Festival Awards
The eighth annual European Festival Awards presented in association with Yourope will take place on January 11, during the opening night of Eurosonic Noorderslag, at De Oosterpoort in Groningen, The Netherlands, to celebrate the successes of Europe’s music festival industry over the past year. As well as a gala dinner and award ceremony there will be live performances from Roosevelt and James TW. The award shortlists can be viewed here.

Eurosonic Noorderslag Playlists
With no less than 350 up-and-coming acts Eurosonic Noorderslag is one of the best places to discover new music. This year Eurosonic Noorderslag is introducing six Discover Eurosonic Noorderslag playlists on Spotify. Segmented by genre, these playlists are the easiest and most comprehensive way of checking the program out.

About Eurosonic Noorderslag
Eurosonic Noorderslag is the key exchange and networking platform for European music, with a proven track record for helping to break new acts on the international live music scene. Selling out each year, the event attracts close to 4,000 professional delegates, including representatives of over 400 international festivals. Each year, Eurosonic Noorderslag presents showcases by more than 350 acts alongside a conference program covering the latest developments in the international music, media, production and interactive industries.

PR Contact