Today in Stockholm, Sweden, Skott was announced as a winner of the 2018 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), the European music awards for emerging artists with outstanding success across Europe. Skott was surprised on live radio at Musiken i P3, by DJ Emma Vikström.

Dreamlike folk, warm electronics and ethereal vocals conspire to draw you closer. Skott is Pauline Skött, a 25-year old singer-songwriter and musician from a tiny village just outside Stockholm. Early singles Porcelain and Wolf were praised by Lorde and Katy Perry, and the Swedish artist kept up the pace with a string of amazing singles in 2017. Skott cooperated with artists like Grey and Twelve’Len, and she is currently working on her debut album, expected to be released in 2018.

EBBA ceremony
Skott is the first European artist to be announced as a winner of an EBBA. A total of ten EBBA winners will be announced in the upcoming weeks. The winners will receive their award in a ceremony hosted by TV personality and musician Jools Holland at the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival in Groningen, Netherlands, on 17 January 2018. The ceremony will feature performances by the winning acts.

Public Choice Award
All EBBA winners are also in the running to win the Public Choice Award. Fans from all over the world can vote online from the end of November to Christmas for their favourite emerging artist. The winner of the Public Choice Award will be announced during the EBBA ceremony at the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival in Groningen. Up to ten voters, chosen at random from different countries, will be invited to the award ceremony. Each will be able to bring a friend and the flight and hotel costs will be taken care of.

The EBBA celebrate new and border-breaking artists who create today and tomorrow’s music. From Adele (United Kingdom) to Christine & the Queens (France), the EBBA winners represent some of the standout European sounds of recent years. Other previous winners include Dua Lipa, Stromae, Gabriel Rios, Hozier, Of Monsters and Men, Mumford & Sons, Aurora, Disclosure, John Newman, C2C, Tokio Hotel, The Script, Years and Years, Robin Schulz, Carnival Youth, MØ and Selah Sue.

From the group of enthusiastic gig-goers out on the weekend to the industry dedicated to making the music you love, Music Moves Europe. The EBBA are one of the EU’s ways of celebrating European popular and contemporary music, by bringing the artists, the industry and the fans together to celebrate European music.

15th edition of EBBA
Every year, 10 European artists receive an EBBA to recognise their success in countries other than their own. This success is measured by: airplay, sales, live performances in Europe, position in the  European Border Breakers Charts

To be eligible for the 2018 awards, the artists must have achieved border-breaking success with their first international release in Europe between 1 August 2015 and 31 July 2016 and come from a country participating in the EU’s Creative Europe programme.

The EBBA, now in their 15th year, is an EU Prize, organised by Eurosonic Noorderslag in partnership with the European Commission (Creative Europe) and the European Broadcasting Union, with support from Buma Cultuur, the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, Province of Groningen, the City of Groningen and Music Week.

Photos of Past EBBA Winners –

Nikki McNeill | Global Publicity