The opening night of Eurosonic Noorderslag (ESNS) will see the presentations of the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) to the most successful European acts of the moment. The TV show can be seen live at Wednesday January 17th at 7.15 PM (CET) through the EBBA website. This will include performances of Alice Merton, Alma, Blanche, Kristian Kostov, Off Bloom, Sigrid, Skott and Youngr among others. On top of that the winner of the Public Choice Award will be revealed.

The EBBA ceremony is presented by musician and BBC TV host Jools Holland. During the show he will announce the EBBA-winning artist that has attracted the most votes and thereby wins the Public Choice Award. Last year it was Dua Lipa who won the award. You can watch the show live through the European Border Breakers Awards website (

15th edition of the EBBA
EBBA celebrates new and groundbreaking artists who create the music of today and tomorrow. The list of EBBA winners features many remarkable European artists of the last few years, like: Adele, Christine & the Queens, Dua Lipa, Stromae, Gabriel Rios, Hozier, Of Monsters and Men, Mumford & Sons, Aurora, Disclosure, John Newman, C2C, Tokio Hotel, The Script, Years and Years, Robin Schulz, Carnival Youth, MØ and Melanie di Biasio.

From enthusiastic music fans to an industry that devotes itself to making the music that you love; ‘Music Moves Europe’. The EBBA is one of the ways in which the EU celebrates European musical diversity and unites fans, artists and the industry.

Each year ten European artists receive an EBBA for the success of their first release outside their home territory. This success is measured by airplay, sales and live shows in Europe and the position on the European Border Breakers Charts. Artists that qualify for EBBA 2018 have experienced groundbreaking success with their first international release in Europe between August 1 2016 and July 31 2017. Alongside that, they have to come from a country that participates in the EU’s Creative Europe programme.

EBBA, now in its 15th year, is an EU prize, set up by ESNS in co-operation with the European Commission (Creative Europe) and the European Broadcasting Union, supported by Buma Cultuur, the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, the province of Groningen, the city of Groningen and MartiniPlaza.

EBBA website:

Nikki McNeill | Global Publicity