The start of the Nordic festival season is less than two months away and as the countdown to by:Larm begins, the festival today reveals the next wave of acts set to perform at the event. 

From March 4 to March 7, the very best of Nordic music scene will gather in the heart of Oslo for Norway’s premier music showcase festival by:Larm. With a diverse live program featuring over 100 artists, by:Larm introduces more established artists to an international audience as well as directing the spotlight towards new talents. For the first time ever in 2015, the festival will also showcase a selection of up-and-coming international artists. Acts already revealed for 2015 include Anna Of The North, Communions, Deers, Drippin, East India Youth, Gidge, Karin Park, SOAK and many more. To kick off the new year, by:Larm presents nine new names for the 2015 lineup. Three of the nine acts announced today, Pretty Vicious (WA), Rae Morris (UK) and Sylvan Esso (US), are the newest additions to by:Larm’s brand new concept International Feel.

Carl Louis (NO)
Carl Louis grew up on an island outside of Oslo with the ocean as his closest neighbor. Stranded in the tempest and left to his own devices, it didn’t take long for this blue-eyed boy to catch up to his dreams of the world.

Whilst living in New York, Carl Louis started the successful duo CLMD, touring the world performing for crowds of thousands and getting playlisted by the likes of BBC1 and SiriusXM. Multiple singles also went platinum. However, in 2014, he chose to go solo, following his dreams of creating and performing more organic and transgressive electronica. “I’m fascinated by the unconventional,” he says, “inspired by the quirky, the catchy and, ultimately, those deep grooves that make you want to lose yourself in the night.”

Those attending by:Larm will be the first to witness his debut solo live appearance. Watch out for Norway’s new prince of electronica.

Carnival Kids (NO)
Complex and visceral, Carnival Kids strike a perfect balance between depth and accessibility, marking out this Anglo-Norwegian four-piece as ones to watch. Describing themselves as “heavy but eclectic, with a punk vibe”, the band draws on musical influences including At The Drive-In, Biffy Clyro, Refused and Botch.

Despite only releasing three singles to date, the group has received strong support both home and abroad. In Norway both singles have been playlisted on NRK P3 Radio, resulting in Carnival Kids being one of the most talked about bands at by:Larm 2014. In the UK, BBC Radio 1, XFM, Kerrang, and Rock Sound have all picked up on the band early, impressed by the dynamic and energetic performances in London supporting Gallows, Trash Talk, and at Vans Warped Tour UK.

Carnival Kids recorded their debut album with producer Bill Stevenson (Rise Against, Black Flag, Alkaline Trio) in Aug-Sept 2014. The album will be released on 23 February by Warner Music Norway.

Hey Elbow (SE)
Hey Elbow was formed a couple months into 2013 by Ellen Pettersson (horns, electronics) and Julia Ringdahl (vox, guitar) with Liam Amner on drums. The trio makes dreamy, experimental pop with strong melodies and a massive soundscape.

The sound and passion from the three members is evident in the totally uncompromising way of expressing themselves. Their music has inspired comparisons to Chelsea Wolfe and Portishead.

Pretty Vicious (WA)
Pretty Vicious are a Welsh Indie Rock band formed 2014 in Merthyr Tydfil, South Wales. The band consists of Brad (lead vocals/guitar), Tom (guitar), Jarvis (Bass) and Elliot (drums). Their track “CAVE SONG” has already gained some major exposure, including airplay on BBC Radio Wales. Pretty Vicious currently have an EP in the works, and the video for “CAVE SONG” was just released. With influences ranging from Punk to Brit Pop, from Jimmy Page to The Smiths, they have a really solid sound.

Rae Morris (UK)
Rae Morris would have you believe that she just fell upon a career in music, but truth be told she’s absolutely made her own luck. Rae has moulded her identity in her own time on her own terms, and honed her skills on the live circuit, where she’s never once experienced a bad reception.

Her reputation as a ‘musician’s musician’ makes sense of the numerous guest appearances on her forthcoming debut ‘Unguarded’. Yet, Rae is anything but a collaborator-for-hire – she’s stuck to her own creative vision, so she can carve a path for herself that’s distinct from all the other noise surrounding the current musical spectrum. Put it plainly, there is nobody else in the UK right now who sounds quite like Rae.

Sivas (DK)
With a staggering total of 6 nominations at the Danish Music Awards 2014, S!VAS marked his position as one of the big profiles of Danish music. Winning “Best Urban Album” certified that S!VAS, along with beat-master Reza, has produced something quite remarkable and fresh.

With both the debut EP “D.A.U.D.A” and the sophomore release “D.A.U.D.A II”, the young artist laid down an entirely new sound but also a completely new take on the Danish language. With heavy use of cunning words, slang, and Arabic and eastern European street wisdom, he made Denmark as well as the establishment sing along in no time which has already credited him with 3 significant awards for his cultural contribution.

Sylvan Esso (US)
Sylvan Esso was not meant to be a band. But due to a chance meeting on a shared bill in a small club the duo came together. Schedules aligned. Moves were made. Sylvan Esso became a band and a year later their self-titled debut – a collection of vivid addictions concerning suffering and love, darkness and deliverance – arrived as a necessary “pop” balm, an album stuffed with songs that don’t suffer the longstanding complications of the term.

Meath sings a melody that she’s conjured, captured, and Sanborn almost instinctively knows how to respond. And when he delivers to her the backbone of a wordless beat, she adds lyrical bait where he’d only seen white space. Sylvan Esso represents the fulfillment of their fortuitous encounter by, once again, linking parts that too often come stripped of their counterparts. Here, motion comes with melody, words come with ideas, and above all, pop comes back with candor.

Ukendt Kunstner (DK)

When Ukendt Kunstner was awarded the Danish Radio P3 Talent Prize early in 2014 it was to be the fire starter to an incredibly eventful year for the duo. Since the release of the “Neonlys” EP in 2013, which boasted considerable national airplay, the odd couple has played sold out shows across the country as well as the largest festivals.

Following their well-received debut album “Forbandede Ungdom” from 2014, Ukendt Kunstner set out on another national tour that proved to sell out entirely. The year concluded with them receiving the award for Årets Danske Gruppe (Danish Group of the Year) at the Danish Music Awards.

Västerbron (SE)

Swedish quartet Västerbron is a noise pop group formed in Stockholm in 2014. The members share a lot of love for Swedish punk and 90’s indie. They have played a lot of live shows since the release of their first single early in 2014, and now they are back in Oslo to play by:Larm after opening for Oslo Ess at a sold out Rockefeller in December. Don’t miss them live!

The band released their debut album, “Idiotologi”, a weeks before the Swedish election. It was recorded live in Studio Motion, Malmö, with producer Tommy Tift (Vånna Inget). The album received favorable reviews from, NRK P3, Sydsvenskan, and GAFFA. The band has also recently been nominated for ”Best Breaking Act” and ”Best Rock” in 2015’s Swedish GAFFA awards.

To see all artists booked for by:Larm 2015 so far, click here.

by:Larm takes place from 4 – 7 March 2015 in Oslo, Norway. Visit for more info. 

Connect with by:Larm